|
|||
|
My forum's registration confirmation mail to new users gets marked as spam by YAHOO/AOL/HOTMAIL etc. Since most new sign-ups have such accounts they never get their conformation mails or any mails from me. Unfortunately people are too lazy to hunt in their Bulk/Trash/Spam folder for a lowly activation mail. I tried with SMTP on and off. I do not believe these SPAM checkers look at only content; I think they discriminate by the originating domain of the email. For example HOTMAIL blocks a mail from admin@mydomain.com even when sent by Squirrel Mail but allows the same email if sent by a @gmail.com account. With SMTP on I used the mailserver of my hosting company but it is obviously not cool enough suffix to make it past the spam filters of YAHOO/AOL/HOTMAIL. I am losing members to this problem. Please help! I even tried using GMAIL's SMTP server which would create @gmail.com emails and make it past the YAHOO/AOL/HOTMAIL spam filters but GMAIL's server needs SSL which PHPBB does not have. So I got an error: General Error Ran into problems sending Mail. Response: 530 5.7.0 Must issue a STARTTLS command first DEBUG MODE Line : 125 File : smtp.php It is asking for a STARTTLS command which means it needs SSL. Is there a MOD for PHPBB which activates SSL within the SMTP settings of PHPBB's ACP. I am really stuck guys. Any help will be appreciated. posted by jayray999 |
|||
|
|||
| in-my-opinion.orgTechnology, Computers, Science, InternetComputers and InternetMail from my PHPBB forum marked SPAM by Yahoo/AOL/Hotmail |
|
|||
|
jayray999: My forum's registration confirmation mail to new users gets marked as spam by YAHOO/AOL/HOTMAIL etc. Since most new sign-ups have such accounts they never get their conformation mails or any mails from me. Unfortunately people are too lazy to hunt in their Bulk/Trash/Spam folder for a lowly activation mail. The problem nowadays it that an email goes through several mail servers before it reaches Yahoo (or any other end point). Each of these servers can enable some sort of anti-spam mechanism or another. The anti-spam measures are sometimes arbitrary, so you can't influence them. One method of them is to check whether from your IP spam was sent before. This happened to me once. I never send spam but I noticed that suddenly one day my all emails were filtered. (Even the emails I send from myself to myself). Especially spamcop.net can be a culprit. My bona fide emails were blocked by Spamcop. And do you know what the #$%& reason was? My ISP has been blocked. CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT? My internet provider (= the one that I use to connect to the internet) has been set on a blacklist. Now if you block COMPLETE providers then "good night". There can be millions of users using 1 ISP and causing that ALL users of this ISP cannot send or receive emails. As far as I know only an P.O. box somewhere in Russia is known of So you can't even effectively complain. posted by knn |
|||
|
|
|||
|
|||
|
If you have lost faith I am soo screwed... posted by jayray999 |
|||
|
|||
|
|||
|
jayray999: If you have lost faith I am soo screwed... I am always assuming that you send the normal phpbb account activation email and not some rewritten text, that includes "Britney Spears" and "enlargement". posted by knn |
|||
|
|||
|
|||
|
Here is what the DirectNIC (= the company that used spamcop and filtered out valid mail) wrote me: directNIC We are forced by this fact to engage a certain degree of SPAM protection on our servers. Without it, we would be completely unable to offer free or low-cost e-mail services to our customers. We regrettably admit that the use of RBL's is not perfect. Occassionally valid e-mails which come from blacklisted servers are refused. Please understand however that this only accounts for 1/10th of 1% of all incoming mail. If we could find a perfect way to control SPAM, we'd certainly be using it. Being a provider of e-mail services comes with a very great responsibility. Occassionally even we at directNIC are blacklisted. It is almost inevitable due to the high number of customers we serve. That being said, even when it's directNIC who is blacklisted, it is entirely up to the blacklisted server to take the appropriate action to close their open, abused server, then be removed from the blacklist. We cannot compromise the security of our servers to accommodate irresponsible e-mail hosts who refuse to play by the same rules as everyone else. It is the responsibility of that ISP to have themselves removed from the blacklist. There is nothing we can do on our end. The point was, that directNIC wasn't even the end terminal or starting terminal of the email. DirectNIC were MERELY SOMEWHERE ON THE ROUTE of the email. posted by knn |
|||
|
|||
|
The time now is 21 November 2008, 05:14 php B.B. |